About Uganda

Uganda and Oregon are comparable in land area but Uganda has 10x more people, which is more than the population of California

Uganda's official languages are English and Swahili

From 1894 to 1962, Uganda was a British protectorate and Winston Churchill referred to it as the "pearl of Africa" because of its beauty

Life expectancy of women is 54.3 years and of men is 52.2 years

50% of the population in Uganda is under the age of 15, making it the youngest-aged country

Uganda is 86.7% Christian, 11.5% Islam, 0.5% Religiously Unaffiliated, 0.3% Hinduism, and 0.1% Other

Uganda is a beautiful land-locked equatorial country in East Africa. It is bordered to the North by South Sudan, to the Northwest by The Democratic Republic of Congo and to the South and East by Kenya, Tanzania and Rwanda. The famous Nile River flows through the land into the Sudan and Egypt. There are two seasons– dry (December- February, June-July) and rainy (March-May, August-November). The capital city, Kampala, is located on the northern shore of Lake Victoria (the second largest lake in the world) and has over a million inhabitants. Uganda is served by Entebbe International Airport located about 22 miles from Kampala.

When you visit Uganda, you will notice a huge difference between the Southern (in red on the map) and Northern (in yellow in the map) parts of the country. The South, where the capital is located, has better developed roads, businesses, hospitals and transportation. This is because it is near the capital, an international airport and also because of peace.

The Northern part of the country is poor and less developed because of the LRA (Lord's Resistance Army) war that started in 1986 and ended in 2008. Northern Uganda is now recovering from the ravages of a 22 year war that reduced its people to abject poverty while the other parts of the country prospered. While several tribes live in Northern Uganda the Acoli and Lango are the major tribal groups. Most people live along the roads and in major towns to benefit from better infrastructure.

The Catholic Archdiocese of Gulu basically includes all of Northern Uganda and includes the districts of: Gulu, Amuru, Nwoya, Omoro, Pader, Agago, Lamwo and Kitgum. The population of these districts is mostly Christian and includes Catholics and Old Line Protestants along with a few pockets of Pentecostal and other Christian denominations.





get to know us


about uganda



PO Box 1863, Minnetonka, MN 55345 — 952.222.8330

Copyright © Hope For Uganda 2018. All Rights Reserved.